A batter overruns first base, but misses the bag. Is then tagged out. Does the runner on 3rd score?

1

Lifting much of my answer heavily from Wax Eagle's answer here:

From MLB rule 5.09(c)(2)

[The runner is out on appeal when] With the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, he fails to touch each base in order before he, or a missed base, is tagged.

This basically means that a runner is considered safe after they've rounded first base without touching it, that is until either he or the base he missed is tagged before he returns to it and the fielding team appeals to the umpire.

However, this specific scenario is addressed in rule 5.09(d)

Unless two are out, the status of a following runner is not affected by a preceding runner’s failure to touch or retouch a base. If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third out, no runners following him shall score. If such third out is the result of a force play, neither preceding nor following runners shall score.

I read this as meaning that a "missed base out" (i.e. missed the...

0 0
2

First off, the situation you described makes those runners seem like very poor base-runners. A runner should never tag up from 3rd on a line-drive back to the pitcher (let alone any line-drive hit within the infield) ESPECIALLY with 0 outs. The correct action to take is for the baserunners to freeze until they see the whole play.. if the ball is caught go back to the bag, if the ball is dropped then either run or stay.

Actually, I am editing my initial answer... I didn't read the whole scenario (the last sentence).. if the runner who touched home beat out the pitcher turning a triple play.. then this rule is not applied and the run should count.

A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

(1) the batter-runner never got a...

0 0
3

A runner needs only to touch a base, by any part of him before proceeding to the next base. He is safe while on the bag or base, and is at risk of being called out by being tagged while not on a base.

He does need to touch all the bases in order, 1st base, then 2nd base, then 3rd base and then home plate. If the runner reaches home plate safely then a run scores.

When a batter hits the ball, while running to first base he is allowed to safely touch and run past the bag (1st base) as long as he doesn’t attempt to go to second base. When running to 2nd and 3rd base, if stopping, you cannot overrun the base or you may be tagged out. Running home (to home plate) you can run through making sure to touch it creates one run.

When the play or ball is live the runner attempts to travel to as many bases as he can without going out.

If a runner is on 1st base and a new batter hits the ball on the ground, the runner is forced to run to second base. There can only be...

0 0
4
PBUC Interpretations

PBUC Interpretations

Tagging a base with an empty glove

Can a fielder get a forced runner out by touching the base with his empty glove (while worn properly) while securely holding the ball in his bare hand? The reason this is being debated is; the Manual from the Brinkman-Froeming school says it is an out, yet some people who have Jim Evans' annotated rules; claim that he says it is not an out because the glove cannot be used as an extension of the hand. Who is correct?

PBUC answer: Runner is out.

top of page

Accidental batted ball; out of the box

A batter is obviously trying desperately to avoid being hit by a pitch. His foot lands completely out of the batter's box and the pitch hits his bat. He is not attempting to hit the ball. Is he out? Is it a foul if it goes foul? Is it a fair ball if it goes fair?

PBUC answer: Don't call batter-runner out (He did not deliberately step out of batter's box...
0 0
5

You're up to bat. The pitcher winds up and slings the ball toward the plate. With a well-timed swing, you send a grounder hurtling through the infield grass to the shortstop. As he dives to intercept the ball, you worry that his throw to first base may beat you there and the umpire will call you out. Luckily, you don't have to slow down and stop at the base. The rules of baseball allow the batter, with certain restrictions, to run past first base without having to worry about being tagged out.

In case you want to look it up, the regulation that allows batters to overrun first base is found in Major League Baseball's "Official Baseball Rules" under section 7.08(c). This statute basically says that a runner is out when he is tagged off of a base, except when he overruns or overslides first base and then immediately returns to it (more about that last part in a bit). So after hitting the ball, a batter can run full steam until he steps on first base, then continue past it,...

0 0
6

Current Rules | Rules FAQ | WAKA Policies | Registration FAQ | League Tournaments

Frequently Asked Rules Questions - last updated 9/16/15:

Field Setup
Q: Is it permissible to physically mark the horizontal boundaries of the strike zone during a regulation game?

Pitching & Kicking
Q: Is a pitch that fails to bounce twice before reaching the plate considered a Ball regardless of what the kicker does?
Q: If the kicker stands completely still and is struck in the leg by a pitch, or if they are trying to get out of the way, does that count as a kick?
Q: May a kicker foul off a pitch using a hand?

Fielding
Q: What kinds of Foul Balls can be caught for an Out? May runners tag up on such Outs?
Q: Can a ball be fielded as fair when first touched by a fielder in the “shaded area” depicted in Diagram 2B?
Q: Can a ball be fielded as fair when first touched by a fielder in the kicking box?
Q: If a runner physically hinders a...

0 0
7
Baseball Rules Trivia

Sorry folks, you won't find any multiple choice questions here. Below is a sample of my favorite "baseball knotty problems" (67 of them). Get yourself a copy of the Official Baseball Rules ... or check out the answers by clicking on the "Answer" button following each question. Each button should take you directly to the proper answer which will appear at the very top of your browser's window. Emails, comments and suggestions are welcome and greatly appreciated

Players, Field, Equipment

1/ The home manager turns in two lineup cards that are not identical. The umpire's copy shows the shortstop batting seventh and the pitcher hitting ninth. The card which is given to the visitors' manager, however, lists the pitcher in both the number 7 and 9 spots, an error which the umpire failed to note. In the third inning, the visiting skipper comes to the plate, pulls out the lineup card and asks for a ruling. What is it? Answer

2/ A...

0 0
8

Misunderstood High School Rules

1a. 1st inning and the batter doubles into left field. However, the batter accidentally threw his bat. The bat clearly strikes the catcher and the catcher is on the ground in pain. Even before playing action concludes, the defensive coach is yelling "the batter threw the bat and hit my catcher, so the batter is out". What does the umpire do?

Call

Some coaches believe that a batter is out if he throws his bat. Admittedly, if a bat is thrown and it interferes with a put-out -- then an out can be declared by the umpire. With the exception of that case, the batter is never out on a thrown bat. The first thrown bat is a team warning and subsequent thrown bat results in a player ejection. An intentionally thrown bat is an immediate ejection, but still not an automatic out.

1b. Six innings later in the same game as above in 1a, a teammate of the player who threw the bat singles to left. However, the batter threw his bat, but it...
0 0
9

Situation 2: One out, runners on first and second. Batter hits a double to left field. Runner from second scores, but runner from first is thrown out at the plate. The batter advances to second safely BUT is declared out on appeal for missing first base.
DOES THE RUN SCORE?

Situation 3: Runner on first and an improper batter is up. The runner advances to second on a wild pitch…the improper batter then singles to right field to score the runner. The defensive manager properly appeals the batting out of order and the umpire upholds the appeal for the first out. WHAT DO YOU DO WITH THE RUNNER WHO SCORED?

Situation 4: The runner on first is attempting to steal second. The catcher cocks his/her arm to throw to second, and accidentally strikes the umpire in the mask. He/she hesitates briefly…then fires to second base in time to tag out the...

0 0
10
Steve O's Previous Baseball Rules Questions of the Month!

July 2016

Q:With a runner on 1st and none out, the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball. The batter runs to 1st and the runner on 1st heads to 2nd. The catcher finds the ball and throws wildly past 1st base, The runner from 1st scores and the batter-runner winds up on 3rd.
What is your ruling?

A: Since there are none out and 1st base is occupied, the batter is out when he misses the 3rd strike. The ball remains live and the runner can advance at his own risk. The fact that the batter runs to 1st and drew a throw is not cause for interference. The catcher should have known that the batter was out. The run counts and the inning continues with no one on and 1 out.

Extra Credit

Q: Which Hall of Famer played just 10 seasons, leading the NL in home runs in each of the first 7?

A: Ralph Kiner.

June

Q:With no one on, the batter hits a short pop-up that...

0 0