Can a runner be “put out” by a runner behind him in the following situation?


Once a Runner is a novel by American author John L. Parker Jr. and was first published in 1978 by Cedarwinds (0915297019). In Once a Runner, Parker illustrates the hard work and dedication that is required of an elite runner. A reissue was released in 2009.

Plot summary[edit]

The novel opens with a physically fit young man standing on a track, watching as "the night joggers" toil around him. He begins to walk toward the starting post, and thinks that now that the Olympic games are over for him, he does not know what he will do with his life. The man starts to walk around the track, and thinks back to four years ago.

Quenton Cassidy is a collegiate runner at fictional Southeastern University based on the University of Florida. He is a distance runner who specializes in the Mile. After writing a petition for the college's athletes protesting a dress and conduct code, Quenton is suspended from the university and prohibited from competing in the university's...

0 0

Rule 8-4 Art 3f Penalty Exceptions


1. When a fielder loses possession of the ball, such as on an attempted tag, and the ball enters the dead-ball area or becomes blocked, each runner is awarded one base from the last base touched at the time the ball entered the dead-ball area or becomes blocked.

2. When the ball becomes dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or a base left too soon if she has advanced, touched and remains a base beyond the missed base or the base left too soon. A runner shall not be declared out if a fielder deliberately carries or throws the ball into dead-ball territory to prevent that runner from returning to a missed base or a base left too soon. In this case, the runner(s) may return to a missed base or base left too soon.

3. If the ball becomes blocked due to offensive equipment not involved in the game, the ball is ruled dead and runners are returned to the last base touched at the time of the blocked...

0 0

Does the run count?

Jack Kroger replied to another section of the blog asking the following situation. I felt that this was one of those situations that might make you think a bit. Here it is:

‘Bases are loaded with one out. A fly ball hit to the outfield is caught legally (two outs). After the ball is put back in play, the defensive team appeals that the runner left second early. The umpire agrees and called the runner going from second to third out on the appeal. Does the run scored by the runner from third count?’

Kimball answer: The run scores. On caught balls, there is no force so all runs count that score before the base (or offending runner) is touched/tagged. This is commonly called a time play even though this is a bit easier than the time play when a runner scores at almost the exact same time as another runner is tagged for the third out. Unless the runner is forced to advance and hasn’t yet touched the base to which he is forced to advance...

0 0


Identify the situation. Read the situation presented before you. A catcher must know how many runners are in position, how many are out, and if possible, what the likelihood is that the baserunners will steal. This will change how you set up your footwork, what kind of pitch you will call, or whether or not you should call for your pitcher to pick-off.


Watch your positioning. Before the pitch is thrown in a throwdown situation, you must be in position to make sure you can get a quick throw off. Your throwing foot should be half a foot further ahead than your back foot, to help reduce time in getting your footwork together. Depending on the situation, you should determine how close or far your should be to the plate. In a situation where there is a right-handed batter and a man possibly stealing third, it is best to line up slightly further from the plate in order to throw behind the batter. This would give you a clear target to third base to get the...

0 0

7.04 - Each runner, other than the batter, may, without liability to be put out, advance one base when:

(a) There is a balk;

(b) The batter’s advance without liability to be put out forces the runner to vacate his base, or when the batter hits a fair ball that touches another runner or the umpire before such ball has been touched by, or has passed a fielder, if the runner is forced to advance;

Rule 7.04(b) Comment: A runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril. If such a runner, forced to advance, is put out for the third out before a preceding runner, also forced to advance, touches home plate, the run shall score.

Play. Two out, bases full, batter walks but runner from second is overzealous and runs past third base toward home and is tagged out on a throw by the catcher. Even though two are out, the run would score on the theory that the run was forced home by the base...

0 0

In baseball, base running is the act of running around the bases performed by members of the team at bat.

In general, base running is a tactical part of the game with the goal of eventually reaching home to score a run. The goal of batting is generally to produce base runners, or help move base runners along. Runners on second or third base are considered to be in scoring position since a normal hit, even a single, will often score them. Part of the goal of a runner and a batter is to get the runner into scoring position.

Becoming a runner[edit]

For any base running to occur, a batter must initially become a base runner. This happens when:[1]

The batter-runner[edit]

The term batter-runner is used in official terminology to identify an offensive player from the time he puts a fair ball into play or the third strike is not caught (thereby ceasing to be a batter) until the end of the play he initiated, whether the play results in the player...

0 0

If the runner has no choice to advance, then touching the base is all you need. This is called a "force out." This happens to anyone advancing to first base (you can't hit the ball and choose not to run), or anyone going to a further base with all bases loaded directly behind them. For example, a runner on third HAS to run with runners on first and second, but he doesn't have to run in any other situation, because nobody behind him HAS to run to his base.

It's also required that a runner touch his base after a fly ball is caught. Since he's required to touch the base, it's considered a force out, and he can be put out on the base, without a tag.

Any other situation, where the runner is choosing to move, but isn't forced to, requires a tag out. This is why players get into "pickles," where they run back and forth between bases while the fielders close in on them; they made the choice to leave a safe base, and now have to avoid a...

0 0

7.01 A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base. If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.

7.02 In advancing, a runner shall touch first, second, third and home base in order. If forced to return, he shall retouch all bases in reverse order, unless the ball is dead under any provision of Rule 5.09. In such cases, the runner may go directly to his original base.

7.03 Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged. The preceding runner is entitled to the base.

7.04 Each runner, other than the batter, may without liability to be put out, advance one base when-

(a) There is a balk;


0 0

Tag Of Baserunner

Line Drive to Infielder

Anonymous asked: Let's say that there is a runner on 2nd base and a batter.

If the batter hits a ball straight to shortstop or 3rd base, without the ball touching the ground, then my understanding is that the batter is out.

Why do I see some plays where that happens, then SS/3B tags out the runner and throws it to 1st base before the batter gets there?

Shouldn't the batter already be out?

Thank you!

Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

Based on your description, your situation occurs with no outs.

By definition, when the batter hits a ball straight at an infielder, in this case the third baseman or the shortstop, where the ball does not touch the ground and this ball is caught by the fielder, it is an out, so there now would be 1 out, which was the batter.

A ball hit as described is called a line drive.

So, we now have...

0 0

The base runner (including the batter-runner) is such an integral and pervasive part of the game of baseball that rules governing the base runner span the majority of Rule 5.0. Additionally, references to the base runner crop up throughout the rule book.

So, while some of the material in this article duplicates information found elsewhere, it's helpful, I think, to bring everything related to the base runner together in a single article.

Rather than essay form, let's do this one in bullet points because there are so many items to cover. At the same time, I'll try to organize the list items and group them logically. I'll emphasize the rules, provide rules references, and then explain and discuss.

Runner: Definition — Definitions (runner)

The definition keeps it pretty simple: "Runner is an offensive player who is advancing toward, or touching, or returning to any base." That said, there is a slight conflict with Definitions (batter-runner), which is, by...

0 0