FIFA World Cup 2014 final ranking rules


URUGUAY (seeded)

How do they play?

Style & formation: As qualifying went on, coach Oscar Tabarez settled on a pragmatic and counter-attacking 4-4-2. The industrious Edinson Cavani leads the line, with Luis Suarez given licence to roam.

Tabarez, however, is not afraid to switch formations, doing so in away matches and during the Confederations Cup to counteract the opposition, including playing 3-5-2 and 4-3-3. Expect him to vary it up in Brazil.

Strengths: In Luis Suarez, Edinson Cavani and the evergreen Diego Forlan, Uruguay possess magnificent striking options.

Oscar Tabarez has also reintroduced the Uruguayan characteristic 'garra' - an inner belief that they are tougher than their opponent, both technically and mentally.

Weaknesses: Diego Godin aside, part of Atletico Madrid's miserly defence, Uruguay's defensive department is ageing. Diego Lugano and midfield enforcer Edgidio Arevalo headline the over-thirties. They have worn the...

0 0

Less than a year away, with just 5 teams confirmed for the next year with Brazil the home side, and 4 Asian sides who finished their Asian World Cup qualifiers. So its hard to predict who is going to win the competition but if we look at all the World Cup qualifers around the world we can safely assume some of the big nations who will be going to Brazil. With teams like Spain, Holland, Germany, Argentina, Italy, Uruguay, Columbia, USA, Belgium and so on are cruising in the qualifying campaigns its hard to see any major upset of a big nation not making it to the finals. Lets first take a look at the 2014 World Cup Groups.


Fifa world cup draw was made on 6th december and this is how the 8 groups look like


These are my predictions for the FIFA World Cup final and because as we all know the bracket (knockout ties possibilities) as...

0 0
World Cup Final Tournaments 1930-2014 - Total Rankings

World Cup Final Tournaments 1930-2014 - Total Rankings

The First Forty Years - Coupe Jules Rimet 1930-1970
The Following Forty Years - FIFA World Cup 1974-2014
The Twenty Tourney Total Table 1930-2014
Points per Match Ratios - Top-Twelves

The First Forty Years - Coupe Jules Rimet 1930-1970

In the first forty years, nine tournaments were held with the Coupe Jules Rimet at stake; Brazil won it for the third time in 1970 and thus outright, but it was later stolen there and never found again. All titles were won by teams from 2 confederations: South America won the cup 5 times by 2 different teams (Brazil 3, Uruguay 2), Europe 4 times by 3 different teams (Italy 2, Germany and England both 1). Also all losing finalists came from those two confederations (where we include the final match between Brazil and Uruguay in 1950, at the end of which one of the two teams was to lift the cup, as a final):...
0 0

The guidance comes from FIFA's medical committee, following a meeting on Monday in Zurich, and will be presented at the Executive Committee's meeting on Thursday and Friday.

It follows several incidents during this summer's World Cup of players attempting to play on after suffering head injuries.

A FIFA press release read: "The incidents at the World Cup have shown that the role of team doctors needs to be reinforced in order to ensure the correct management of potential cases of concussion in the heat of competition.

"Following recent discussion with team doctors and confederations, the FIFA Medical Committee agreed at a meeting held yesterday in Zurich to submit a proposal to the FIFA Executive Committee in order to improve the protocol.

"Under the proposal, whenever a suspected incident of concussion occurs, the referee will have the ability to stop the game for three minutes, allowing the relevant team doctor to complete...

0 0

MAIN Sports Soccer - Football 2014 FIFA World Cup

The milestone 20th edition of the World Cup games kicked off on June 12, 2014 in...

0 0

The 2018 FIFA World Cup qualification process will decide 31 of the 32 teams which will play in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, with the hosts Russia qualifying automatically. All 210 remaining FIFA member associations are eligible to enter the qualifying process. For the first time in World Cup history, all national teams registered for the preliminary competition,[1] although suspensions excluded some teams from participating in qualification.[2][3]Bhutan, South Sudan, Gibraltar and Kosovo made their FIFA World Cup qualification debuts.[4][5][7][8]

While the main qualifying draw took place at the Konstantinovsky Palace in Strelna, Saint Petersburg on 25 July 2015,[9][10] a number of qualification matches were played before that.[11] The first began in Dili, Timor-Leste on 12 March 2015 as part of the AFC's qualification,[12] with East Timorese player Chiquito do Carmo scoring the first goal of qualification. Matches were also played in CONCACAF prior to the main draw.


0 0

Yes, a bit of old news, but I have been really busy both at home and at the office, then had a short vacation.

Hats off to FIFA about announcing this before the last match day. Maybe next time it will be known before the preliminary draw.

Here's the official media release from FIFA.

Regarding the procedure for the Final Draw for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™, the seeded teams (Pot 1) will include Brazil and the seven top-ranked teams. The remaining pots will be based on geographic and sports criteria. The FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of October 2013 (to be released on 17 Oct. 2013) will be used as opposed to the November ranking as the latter would give the teams involved in the upcoming play-off games an unfair advantage.

The seeds are almost set, as FIFA have announced:

The distribution of teams in Pot 1 for the World Cup Final Draw on 6 December is as follows: Brazil, together with Spain, Germany, Argentina, Colombia, Belgium and Switzerland...

0 0