Is it a “let” if the ball touches the net then bounces back?

1

You can tell your friend to learn the rules. It is not a fault to set the ball back over the net on the first contact. Two exceptions to this:

If you are playing beach volleyball as opposed to indoor volleyball, you cannot set the first contact at all - it doesn't matter if it goes over the net or not. You may not play the serve directly back over the net if the ball is entirely higher than the top of the net and in the front zone (Rule 13.2.4). Basically this is "you can't block the serve", but it equally applies to setting the ball back if the ball is higher than the top of the net; perhaps it is this rule which is confusing your friend.

However, none of this means it's a good idea to play the ball directly back - you should always be trying to pass the ball to your own side one way or...

0 0
2
The service is a let if:

a. The ball served touches the net, strap or band, and is otherwise good; or, after
touching the net, strap or band, touches the receiver or the receiver’s partner
or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground; or

b. The ball is served when the receiver is not ready.
In the case of a service let, that particular service shall not count, and the server shall
serve again, but a service let does not cancel a previous fault.

Additional approved alternative procedures can be found in Appendix V.

23. THE LET

In all cases when a let is called, except when a service let is called on a second
service, the whole point shall be replayed.

Case 1: When the ball is in play, another ball rolls onto court. A let is called. The
server had previously served a fault. Is the server now entitled to a first service or
second service?
Decision: First service. The whole point must be...

0 0
3

By Greg Letts

Question: What Happens If The Ball Bounces Back Over The Net On Service?

I am a physical education teacher and a student asked me this question about table tennis and how this situation would be scored:

A player is ready to serve to their opponent, he hits the ball on his side, it bounces over the net but he has so much back spin on the ball, the ball bounces back over the net to his side of the table before the opponent can hit it.

I told him that the likelihood of this actually happening is not very good. He agreed but was wondering what the ruling was. Most times when they ask questions I have answers but I could not give him an appropriate one. Can you help?

Chris

Answer: Hi Chris - the rule is that it is the server's point. The relevant Law of Table Tennis is the following:

2.7 The Return
2.7.1 The ball, having been served or returned, shall be struck so that it passes over or around the net assembly and...

0 0
4
Kristianne Bontempo | Towpath Tennis Employee | Online Store Manager

Have you ever been in a middle of a match when something so off the wall happens where both you and your opponent wonder, how do we rule this? Well we've experienced a handful of these odd-ball scenarios and have the USTA sanctioned rulings on each of them to keep you on your toes and to make you into an on-court know-it-all!


What if somebody serves out of order? If you realize a doubles team had served out of order after the fact, then the match continues on in the corrected original rotation of servers. If you make this discovery during a game then immediately stop play and make the correction, then continue the game as is. Regardless of who was serving, all completed points stand as played previous to the discovery. What if the ball bounces back over the net before I could hit it? If the spin or wind brings the ball back over the net, then you must hit the ball in order to win the point even if...
0 0
5

Tennis presents a variety of situations where a player can get hit by the ball. Each scenario has clearly defined rules on how to score the point. These rules are set by the United States Tennis Association for domestic matches, and by the International Tennis Federation for matches that involve players from different countries. In the case of a ball touching a player, both the USTA and ITF provide the same rules on how to score the point.

The USTA awards a point to the server if the served ball hits the receiver -- or, in a doubles situation, the receiver's partner -- before it touches the ground. Even if the serve is clearly not going to hit its designated serving area, if the ball hits the player before the ground, the point goes to the server. The play is ruled a let if the ball first touches the net, strap or band, and then touches the receiver or the receiver's partner, or any clothing, before it touches the ground. If a service...

0 0
6

Whether it’s intentional or accidental, getting hit by a tennis ball sometimes happens during a match. If you’re a regular player, you probably know the basic rules of tennis, but do you know what happens when someone gets hit or touches the ball? Even if you’re not an official on the women's pro tour who knows every single rule in the book, you can help keep match play fair by learning these lesser-known rules.

Service Fault

The rules set forth by the International Tennis Federation state that your serve is considered a fault if, after serving, the ball touches you or your doubles partner. The rules also state that you have two tries per point at serving. If this happened on your first serve, you can take a second serve. If this happens on your second serve, you lose the point. If you mishit your serve, the ball can't even touch anything you or your partner are wearing -- such as glasses, hat or a towel stuck in your waistband.

Let Serve

Your...

0 0
7
anon302753
Post 40

In the middle of the game, if the ball hits the top of the net, but bounces off to your opponent's side of the table, do you lose a point, does your opponent have to hit it or do you win a point?

anon248367
Post 39

In a game, if the ball is hit by the opponent, and strikes the poles which hold the net and are not aligned with the table, but somehow gets to your square, is it their point or out?

anon208596
Post 38

If your opponent hits the ball over the net and lets go of his paddle in the process does he still get the point?

anon152178
Post 37

how many balls allowed in one service period in ping pong?

...
0 0
8

The basic rules of squash are fairly simple. First the winner of the toss gets to choose which side they want to serve from and alternates sides until they lose a point. The toss is typically done by spinning the racquet, with one player guessing whether the racquet will land up or down based on the direction of the logo at the end of the grip. The ball can hit any number of walls ( i.e sidewall, backwall ) but must eventually hit the front wall before bouncing on the floor. A rally ( the exchange of shots ) ends when one of the following occurs:

Interference resulting in a stroke, i.e. point to the obstructed player.

The serve is done by having at least one foot in the service box, then hitting the ball to the front wall, above the service line and having it bounce in the opposite quarter-court. The receiver can stand anywhere as long as they do not interfere with the server. Only one serve is allowed. There is no second serve as in tennis.

Your opponent has the...

0 0
9

A post entitled Table Tennis Rules and Regulations might sound boring, but it isn’t! At least, I hope it won’t be.

In this post, I will clearly explain the most important rules of table tennis and in doing so, put an end to the countless arguments occur each day across the globe.

If you are a casual player or a beginner, this post will attempt to expose any and all of the mythical, made-up table tennis rules that crop up on tables the world over. I will also provide a brief bullet point summary of the basic rules of table tennis.

If you’re an experienced player I hope that you’ll find this article useful as well. I recently attempted an umpiring exam paper and despite having been playing table tennis for over 10 years… I failed. There are a few odd and hard to understand rules and regulations in table tennis and I’ll be highlighted them and asking for your opinion.

So let’s begin…

Table Tennis Rules: Myth-busters

During the time I’ve been...

0 0
10

I'm a big advocate for knowing the rules of tennis. You can easily and wrongly lose points by not knowing the rules. (And you can just as easily win them by being the one person on the court who actually knows the rules!)

And there are definitely some weird rules in tennis that you should know. So here's one that you might not have seen played out yet. This has happened to me in at least one match and I've seen it in several others so I'm guessing that if you haven't come up against it yet, you soon will.

You're at the base line. Your opponent hits a ball that is clearly sailing out. It's going to hit the back fence. There is no doubt about it. You know it and your opponent knows it. So you call it out before it lands out - not all that great of etiquette on your part but you do it anyway. However, before it lands, you catch it in your hand. Or maybe you catch it on your racquet (if you're really good). Or you hit it away with your racquet. Or it actually hits your...

0 0
11

See this page with Table Tennis rules. Specifically there are two rules to be read here.

First, a legal serve is defined as:

2.06.03 As the ball is falling the server shall strike it so that it touches first his or her court and then, after passing over or around the net assembly, touches directly the receiver's court; in doubles, the ball shall touch successively the right half court of server and receiver.

Keeping that in mind, your scenario of a serve touching the net, and then landing back in the server's court would not be a let. Reason being, a let is essentially a legal serve if you remove the touch of the net from the equation. i.e.:

If the serve is legal except that it touches the net, it is called a let serve. Let serves are not scored and are reserved.

The above remains correct after checking the most credible source I could find, but FYI here's the link to what I believe are the official rules:...
0 0
12

A serve (or, more formally, a service) in tennis is a shot to start a point. A player will hit the ball with a racquet so it will fall into the diagonally opposite service box without being stopped by the net. Normally players begin a serve by tossing the ball into the air and hitting it (usually near the highest point of the toss). The ball can only touch the net on a return and will be considered good if it falls on the opposite side. If the ball contacts the net on the serve but then proceeds to the proper service box, it is called a let; this is not a legal serve in the major tours (but see below) although it is also not a fault. Players typically serve overhead, but serving underhand, although rare, is allowed. The serve is the only shot a player can take their time to set up instead of having to react to an opponent's shot.

The serve is one of the more difficult shots for a novice, but once mastered it can be a considerable advantage. Advanced players can hit the serve...

0 0
13

Q. My friends and I are in disagreement about this. Some of us say that if the ball strikes any part of your body during the rally, you lose the point. And further, you should call that on yourself. Some others say that if the ball hits your hand or wrist (the one holding the racquet) while you are attempting to return the ball during the point and the ball goes over the net to the opposing team, the ball is still in play and you don't lose the point. What's the ruling?

A. Any touch is called on oneself. The hand is considered a part of the body and not the racket. If the ball touches your hand that holds the racket you lose the point.

Q. While playing doubles our opponents hit the ball right at my partner who was at net. My partner avoiding the ball ducked quickly to avoid being hit. While ducking his glasses flew off which the ball struck while in the air. The ball went wildly out of bounds. What is the correct call in this situation? We were playing a friendly...

0 0
14

Q. "While playing a round robin doubles match, an opponent of mine reached over the net while returning a ball. The ball was on their side of the net, yet their racket clearly was on my side during the return and follow-through. No contact was made to the net by player or racquet. The ball landed in and the point continued on. Is this automatically a lost point due to reaching over the net?"

*We’ve received emails from readers wanting the definitive answers to questions that seek the clarification of rules, so we’ve decided to oblige with a ruling from the USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman to the above question before getting into players’ responses.

OFFICIAL RULING

A player may break the plane of the net on a follow through from a shot as long as the ball was on that player’s side of the court when the ball was struck. (The player can only reach over to play a ball in the situation stated in the paragraph below).

The player in either situation...

0 0
15

Court and Specifications

A standard pickleball court shall be a rectangle 20 feet wide and 44 feet long. The diagram at the right shows the specified court markings.

Court Markings:

Baselines: The baselines are the 20 foot lines parallel to the net at the end of the court. Sidelines: The sidelines are the 44 foot lines perpendicular to the net on each side of the court. Non-Volley Lines: The non-volley lines are the 20 foot lines parallel to and 7 feet from the net. Non-Volley Zones: The non-volley zones are the areas of the court on each side of the net bounded and included by the two sidelines, the non-volley line, and the net. Centerlines: The centerlines are the lines on each side of the net bisecting the area between the non-volley line and the baseline. Service Courts: The service courts are the areas on either side of the centerline, bounded by the non-volley line and the baseline.

Scoring

Points are scored only by the serving side after...
0 0
16

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

This page is a glossary of tennis terminology.

ace: Serve where the tennis ball lands inside the service box and is not touched by the receiver; thus, a shot that is both a serve and a winner is an ace. Aces are usually powerful and generally land on or near one of the corners at the back of the service box. Initially the term was used to indicate the scoring of a point. action: Synonym of spin ad: Used by the chair umpire to announce the score when a player has the advantage, meaning they won the point immediately after a deuce. See scoring in tennis ad court: Left side of the court of each player, so called because the ad (advantage) point immediately following a deuce is always served to this side of the court. advantage: When one player wins the first point from a deuce and needs one more point to win the game; not applicable when using deciding points. advantage set: Set won by a player or team having won at least six...
0 0