(AP Photo/Michael Dwyer)
Rules for determining winning and losing pitcher are covered in section 10.17 of the scoring rules.
When a pitcher throws a complete game and his team wins, he is obviously the winning pitcher. If he leaves after 7 innings with a big lead that his team holds on to, it is also easy to tell he is the winning pitcher. But there are many situations where it’s not clear on who the winning pitcher is. I will cover these points below.
If the pitcher was the starter, he can get credit for the win if the following conditions are met:
1. He pitches at least 5 innings (*). (This is why often when pitchers start to struggle in the 5th, their managers are reluctant to pull them if they are winning and try to squeeze another out or two out of them. Managerial decisions should never be based on impact to a player’s stats, but I’ll rant about that later – probably moreso in relation to the save...